

List of Contributing Organizations

University of Maine, Orono, Maine James W. Sewall Company, Old Town, Maine Bernstein, Shur, Sawyer & Nelson, P.A., Portland, Maine Black & Veatch Corporation, Rancho Cordova, California Forristall Ocean Engineering, Inc., Camden, Maine Island Institute, Rockland, Maine Kleinschmidt, Pittsfield, Maine Maine Composites Alliance/Maine Wind Industry Initiative, Portland, Maine RLC Engineering, Augusta, Maine University of Maine School of Law, Portland, Maine Verrill Dana, Portland, Maine Vienna Ventures, Vienna, Maine W.F. Baird & Associates Coastal Engineers Ltd., Oakville, Ontario, Canada



List of Authors and Contributors

Executive Summary

Robert Lindyberg, Ph.D., PE, University of Maine Patrick Graham, P.E., and Susan Elston, Ph.D., James W. Sewall Company

Section 1.0 – Introduction

Habib J. Dagher, Ph.D., PE, University of Maine

Section 2.0 - Regional Analysis

Alina Watt, PE, Patrick Graham, PE, Susan Elston, Ph.D., Eeva Hedefine, and Stacie Stoddard, James W. Sewall Company

Section 3.0 - Gulf of Maine Resource Information

Anthony Viselli, University of Maine (3.1 – 3.7)
George Z. Forristall, Forristall Ocean Engineering, Inc. (3.1 – 3.7)
Alina Watt, PE, Susan Elston, Ph.D., Patrick Graham, PE, Eeva Hedefine, and Stacie Stoddard, James W. Sewall Company (3.8, 3.10 and 3.11)
Joseph T. Kelly, Ph.D. and Melissa Landon Maynard, Ph.D., University of Maine (3.9)

Section 4.0 – Electric Grid Interconnection

Dave Estey, PE, RLC Engineering (4.1 – 4.3, 4.5) Waine Whittier, PE, Vienna Ventures (4.1 – 4.3, 4.5) Patrick Graham, PE and Eeva Hedefine (Figures for 4.1 – 4.3) Andrew McGillis, PE, W.F. Baird & Associates Coastal Engineers Ltd. (4.4) Tim Mundon, Ph.D. and Tim Oakes, Kleinschmidt (4.4)

Section 5.0 – Impact Assessment

Jeff Thaler, Esq., Bernstein, Shur, Sawyer & Nelson, P.A. (5.1)
Patrick Graham, PE, James W. Sewall Company (5.1.7)
Alina Watt, PE, Susan Elston, Ph.D., Patrick Graham, PE, Eeva Hedefine, and Stacie Stoddard, James W. Sewall Company (5.2)
Alina Watt, PE, James W. Sewall Company (Figure 5.2)
Susan Elston, Ph.D., James W. Sewall Company (OWEGIS Figures 5.3 – 5.11)

Section 5.0 - Impact Assessment (continued)

Peter Jumars, Ph.D., Andrea Copping, Ph.D., Rebecca Holberton, Ph.D., Andrew Pershing, Ph.D., Robert Steneck, Ph.D., and Jason Stockwell, Ph.D., University of Maine (5.3)
Heather Deese, Ph.D., Island Institute (5.3 and 5.4)
Amanda LaBelle, Suzanne Pude, Birgitta Polson, Jennifer Litteral, Shey Conover, and Robert Snyder, Island Institute (5.4)
Alice Kelley, Ph.D., University of Maine (5.2.13 and 5.4)

Section 6.0 - Construction and Assembly

Paul Williamson and Steven Von Vogt, Maine Composites Alliance/Maine Wind Industry Initiative

Section 7.0 – Economics and Policy

James S. Ward IV, University of Maine (7.1) Mark Griffith and Benson Joe, Black & Veatch Corporation (7.2) Harlan Doliner, Esq., Verrill Dana (7.3) Michael Dixon, University of Maine School of Law (7.3)

Section 8.0 – Findings

Patrick Graham, PE, Susan Elston, Ph.D., and Eeva Hedefine, James W. Sewall Company

Editors

Susan Elston, Ph.D., Patrick Graham, PE, and Eeva Hedefine, James W. Sewall Company

This report reflects the compiled work product of a team of contributors organized by the University of Maine. This team includes academic researchers, environmental non-governmental organizations, industry trade associations, law firms, engineering and environmental consulting firms. The contributing organizations and authors are identified above for each section of the report. Other than grammatical, formatting, edits for clarification, the work product of the contributing authors has been retained in its original form.





Acknowledgments

The University of Maine (UMaine), James W. Sewall Company (Sewall) and all authors and contributors to this study would like to thank the following persons and organizations for their contributions to the overall development and success of this report:

- Senator Susan Collins
- Members of Maine's Congressional Delegation
- Secretary Steven Chu
- Governor John Baldacci
- Members of Governor Baldacci's Offshore Energy Task Force
- The Late Matthew Simmons
- Robert West and the Ocean Energy Institute
- Ms. Karin Tilberg
- Chris Hart, United States Department of Energy
- Bangor Hydro Electric Company
- Bath Iron Works
- Central Maine Power Company
- Cianbro Corporation

In particular, the UMaine and Sewall would like to acknowledge and thank the staff and executive leadership at Statoil ASA for their collaboration and cooperation in helping frame the content of the study.

Finally, UMaine would like to acknowledge the support of the US Department of Energy, which provided funding for completion of this study.